Lightness combined with an urban atmosphere:the industrial interior style


For all their modernity, loft apartments go back a long waywith the first lofts emerging back in the 1940s in New York and London.During the process of urbanisation, living space became increasingly scarce, so old factory halls with high ceilings and large windows were converted into residential premises.


shalimar


Although the name might not suggest it, there's one thing industrial loft apartments have in abundance: and that's light! The dominant wall colour is white. It underlines the clear structures of the interior style and enhances the expansiveness and lightness of the room. Alternatively, untreated wood and natural stone walls are popular features. Exposed bricks and untreated wooden beams introduce a natural note to an otherwise urbane interior concept.


Furnishings, too, tend to embrace simple but sophisticated styles. Instead of textiles, the focus is on wood, metal and leather. A classic black sofa, for example, is as fitting as a rustic dining table with metal chairs.


But rather than being austere, this timeless interior style is welcoming and spacious. Decorative items such as potted plants, stylish lamps and sleek vases are skilfully integrated into the overall picture and add a personal touch to the room.


Concrete Blocks

Helligkeit in Kombination mit urbanem Großstadtflair: Der industrielle Wohnstil


Loft-Wohnungen blicken trotz ihres modernen Looks auf eine lange Geschichte zurück: Die ersten Lofts gab es bereits in den 40er Jahren in New York und London. Im Zuge der Urbanisierung war Wohnraum rar und so wurden alte Fabrikhallen mit hohen Decken und riesigen Fenstern zu Wohnräumen umfunktioniert.


shalimar


Obwohl der Name es nicht vermuten lässt findet man in einer industriellen Loft-Wohnung vor allem eines: viel Licht. Die dominierende Wandfarbe ist weiß. Sie unterstreicht die klaren Strukturen des Wohnstils und lässt den Raum geräumig und hell wirken. Alternativ entdeckt man vor allem unbehandelte Holz- und Steinwände. Unverputzter Backstein und rohe Holzbalken bringen die nötige Natürlichkeit in das sonst so urbane Wohnkonzept.


Auch in der Wahl der Möbel wird tendenziell auf schlichte aber hochwertige Stücke zurückgegriffen. Anstatt von textilen Stoffen stehen auch hier vor allem Holz, sowie Metall und Leder im Vordergrund. So ist ein klassisches schwarzes Sofa ebenso passend wie ein rustikaler Esstisch mit metallenen Stühlen.


Alles in allem wirkt diese zeitlose Art sich einzurichten jedoch nicht karg sondern einladend und geräumig. Dekorationsartikel wie Grünpflanzen, stylische Lampen und schlichte Blumenvasen werden geschickt in das Gesamtbild integriert und geben dem Raum so zusätzlich Persönlichkeit.


Concrete Blocks